No Elmo

O has been really really naughty the last few weeks.  Mommy, O not listen??? (she says to me).  Yes, O, you don’t listen to Mommy.  It could be the terrible twos. It could be her natural willfulness.  Or she is looking for new and intresting ways to torture her parents.

On Friday (after a wonderful day of shopping, more on this later), we picked up O from daycare, and she got  mad at me about something, and she hit me. She actually hit me. I was so mad.  I told her that I am very upset at her behavior.  We were too far from home to really punish her. On the way home, she fell asleep.  As soon as we walked into the house, she was awake. We played “cake”. Meaning she takes out her tea set, I make pancakes from playdo, and we pretend to have tea and eat pancake.  She was clearly tired because everything was annoying her.  I finally had to call time, and tell her it’s time to brush our teeth, watch Elmo and go to bed. And the talking back started.

No, Mommy.  Play, Mommy. No, O. it’s time for bed. No, and she blows raspberries at me. Tears start rolling down her cheeks. Then she comes up to me, and starts to hit (doesn’t actually do it), but we got really upset.  DH says, O if you don’t start listening to mommy and get ready for bed, then no Elmo tonight. No, blowing more raspberries.  She brings her “pancake” in the living room, and starts taking it apart. There’s playdo EVERYWHERE.  We tell her again, O, no Elmo tonight. She acts like she doesn’t care.

I know it sounds like no Elmo was very extreme, but this whole week she has been doing the hitting and the raspberry blowing. And now she does this new thing when she gets really frustrated. She knows she can’t hit, so instead she kind of hits herself in a fit of anger.

But back to that evening.  Then she starts pulling at the heartstrings.  Mommy, look, O clean up. O clean up. Watch Elmo??  Obviously she thought the punishment was because she wasn’t cleaning up.  We said, Thank you, O, but you don’t get Elmo because you weren’t listen to Mommy.  Mommy, Cacky, O clean up, please watch Elmo.  I mean, she was laying it on THICK like molasses.  We almost broke. Both us, at the same time, she almost got us.  I mean she is one little girl, and we are TWO, count them TWO grown ups. We knew were getting played, but it was…. I don’t know…SO SHE WAS FREAKING GOOD. You have to give her credit…..

But she ruined it by turning around, and pushing and hitting me. So then. No Elmo….

Bedtime was traumatic. But she was so tired, she fell asleep right away.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Father Dearest, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Elmo

  1. Aunty says:

    Pulling out the big guns!

Leave a Reply

