What I’m Cooking Today

Last night was freaking brutal. With DH away, she would just not go back to sleep. She woke up at 1:15 am. Then cried for 15-25 minutes.  She would not sit in her bed.  I was really really ready to give up and allow her to come into bed with me.  I wanna sleep with Mommy, she said between hiccups and tears.  But finally, she settled into bed, and every two minutes, she would call out, Mommy! I’m right here, O.  Okay, she whimpers. This went on for 1 hour.  And of course I couldn’t fall asleep right away because I kept waiting for her to just say it again. What if I don’t respond quickly enough?  What if she starts crying again??  I eventually fell asleep.

Then at 5:45 am she comes in the room, and whereas she normally falls back asleep, this time she wanted her milk, and she wanted to keep talking. I told her that unless she keeps quiet, she will have to go back to her room. She sat quietly. I might have fallen asleep… or not.

But today we spent the day cleaning.  She helped “a lot”.  Mostly getting in the way, but she did help me wipe the table top.  Bring the dust buster as requested.  Ok, Mommy. Dust puster.

Then this evening I made Roasted Garlic and Potato Soup.  I took this recipe, but altered it a little bit. I couldn’t understand about the garlic, so I ended up roasting it. I think I might have put a bit too much roasted garlic.

Please follow the recipe on the link, but I made the following changes.

I added two thyme springs as well.

I baked two of the potatoes and added them at the end.

The roasted garlic recipe is:

Preheat the oven to 400°F. Peel away the outer layers of the garlic bulb skin, leaving the skins of the individual cloves intact. Using a knife, cut off 1/4 to a 1/2 inch of the top of cloves, exposing the individual cloves of garlic. Place the garlic heads in a baking pan; cover with aluminum foil. Bake at 400°F for 30-35 minutes, or until the cloves feel soft when pressed. Allow the garlic to cool enough so you can touch it without burning yourself.

It’s true that it’s really really thick. It looks like a baked potato. Or mashed potatoes.  I made double the recipe (my mistake. There is SO much left), and I froze half of it. Tomorrow when I serve it, I think I will have to add water or more chicken stock.

Then in a truly inspirational note, I also made the vanilla bean pudding.  It was amazing! I used vanilla extract, and it was great! Really easy to make. And really delicious.  Nothing beats the stuff from scratch!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Crafty Mommy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

