Recap!

Today is FREAKING COLD!!! I just went to the bank, and my eyelids froze. That’s right! I haven’t felt this cold since I used to live in the great up north. Where a trip to the supermarket would produce tears of pain. And since when I have stopped wearing mascara. The second you walked anywhere inside, my eyes would start tearing uncontrollabily, and I became a raccoon. Yes, it could have easily been solved with waterproof mascara, but at my young age, who needed the extra step after a night of drinking to use proper eye make up remover instead of just splashing my face with water.

In the world that is called Diva O, life with O has become really intresting.  She so much bossier than before, and now she can clearly express her demands and commands. Mommy, put here. Mommy, lean back.

This morning, her stuffed puppy (who used to be a brilliant white has now become a really gross grayish color) was bad. She was telling it. No, puppy, bad. Time out.  I asked, Why does puppy have a time out?  Puppy, no listen. Puppy time out.  Then 2 minutes later, she goes to the puppy, in the time out corner. Says something, which I cannot understand.  Then, Ok, puppy.  I lole you (love you). Gimme hug. And she hugs the puppy.  Clearly, she understands the whole time out situation. The puppy was remorseful enough for its behavior that it was taken to daycare today (only to change colors probably to a nice black color).

The amount of energy she has is astounding.  Last night we made our own tambourine band.  DH and I took turns banging on the tambourine, while O and DH or I (depending on who was the assigned musician), danced around in circles in an Indian-rain-dance-kind-of-circle.  She had a great time.  We did it Gain, mommy, Gain, Cacky! for a good half hour.

And even after a full day spent at daycare with other kids, she comes home and just wants to run around.  I don’t understand with all the running, how come she doesn’t sleep through the night.  I haven’t allowed her in our bed in the middle of the night in WEEKS, but she still gets up every night. And every night she cries.  And every night we don’t get a full nights’ sleep.  Maybe soon….

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recap!

  1. Sam says:

    Oh god, the sleep doesn’t get better? We are waking once in the night now and we do hear screams and pianos and vaccums being played with, but we put cushions and blankets on the floor and they go back to sleep there. I’m not sure how good that is but if it means I don’t have to get up… I just want sleep, regular sleep.

    • RidgewoodMom says:

      Wait!!! They get up and play during the night??? O was a good sleeper but she goes in phases, and these are the phases when she is not a good sleeper. Last night for example, I was woken up by a little pat on the shoulder. O climbed in bed with me. It was 3:45 am. I usually put her back in her bed (with tears and cries), but this time she was IN BED with me!! I knew it would be a fight to get her out of the bed at that point. So I plopped her on the pillow next to me, and we slept peacefully the rest of the 2-1/2 hours until alarm went off.

      I long for the olden days when she slept through the night…. Sigh….Maybe when they are teenagers, then we will be FIGHTING to get them out of bed.

  2. Sam says:

    Sadly my have never slept through the night consistently (possibly cos theres 2 of them, even if one sleeps, chances are the other will wake at some point), we have maybe a few weeks, months even of sleep then something happens and its up once, twice, three times a night…Er, yes, they play. We have a gate on their bedroom door so they can’t get out so they decide to play, sometimes I hear giggles and laughing which is kinda funny. It never lasts long, maybe 20 minutes before they pass out. I’m hoping that will wear off. I can’t wait for either a) them to be teenagers and sleep til noon or b) when they will wake up and play in their room quietly til I awake (or go and watch tv til I awake)!

Leave a Reply

