Potato Leek Soup

I was talking to my friend who has 10 month old, and she was telling me how her parents were judging her and telling her that they couldn’t believe she is buying her baby’s food instead of making it from scratch. Well, first off, every time she makes his food, he doesn’t want it.  So let me just set the record straight, I made O’s food from scratch.  I slaved over foods, making different varieties to introduce her to new flavors. Only by beginning of her first year did I start giving up and buying her premade food jars, which she refused to eat.  Then she started eating the food at day care. And now, I am in constant battle with her to eat…with me. At day care she eats like she’s never had a full meal in her life.  When we got back from our Christmas vacation, and she was back at day care, they told me, Did she not eat at all the week she was away?  Because she was ravenous!!  Seriously, Baby Toddler!! Can’t you just eat for once???

So the other night I made potato leek soup. I am not creative enough to come up with new recipies, so all my recipies will be clearly referenced from the websites I found them on.  This Potato and Leek Soup is courtesy of Emeril Lagasse:

Ingredients

  • 1 large or 2 small leeks, about 1 pound (I used more leeks, because you can’t go wrong with leeks)
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 20 black peppercorns
  • 4 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 strips bacon, chopped
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 5 cups chicken stock (I ended up using 6 cups, an entire large large container of chicken stock)
  • 1 to 1 1/4 pounds russet potatoes, diced
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon white pepper
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 2 tablespoons snipped chives

Directions

Trim the green portions of the leek. Put the bay leaves, peppercorn, and thyme in a spice ball.

Using a sharp knife, halve the white part of the leek lengthwise and rinse well under cold running water to rid the leek of any sand. Slice thinly crosswise and set aside.

In a large le creuset pot over medium heat, melt the butter and add the bacon. Cook for 5 to 6 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the bacon is very soft and has rendered most of its fat. Add the chopped leeks and cook until wilted, about 5 minutes. Add the wine and bring to a boil. I boiled it for about 5 minutes, just make sure the alcohol in the wine evaporated. Add the spice balls, chicken stock, potatoes, salt and white pepper, and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to a simmer and cook for 30 minutes, or until the potatoes are falling apart and the soup is very flavorful.

Remove the bouquet garni and using an immersion blender puree the soup directly in the pot. Stir in the heavy cream and adjust the seasoning, if necessary. Serve immediately, with some of the snipped chives sprinkled over the top of each bowl of soup. I made a little flower using the extra heavy cream in the middle of the bowl.

I of course tried to feed O the soup, and I figured it was a lost cause. I was just going through the motions.  But she was in a good mood, and she sat down in her stool, and had soup, putting the spoon in the soup and up to her mouth by herself.  She would blow on the spoon because it was Hot, really HOT (it wasn’t that hot, but she is a bit of a diva).  And she ate it. She actually ate, and the bestest compliment of all, Mommy, mmmm, yummy!!!  And big big smile!

Melted my heart!!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Crafty Mommy, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

