Happy New Year to Me!

The blog has been in a sad state of affairs. December was so INSANE, that it was by far the worst blogging month ever.  Then I receive an email from WordPress letting me know as such. Basically 2010 was a bad year for the blog. It basically told me I suck, and I should start paying attention to my blog again. And so, with 2011 well under way (4 days into it) I return to my old friend.

And let’s just say the first 4 days of the new year have indeed been “great”!  We came back from a week of skiing (where the snowstorm that hit the Northeast coast completely missed us, and only provided 4″ of snow) to a wonderful leak in the basement.  YEY!!  The cuflink was tightened, and off we went to work. Only to come home to an even bigger leak.  Fortunately, the basement is not finished, and because we are behind schedule, the carpet hasn’t been installed. We are grateful for small miracles.  The pipe was bound to burst, so it’s better that it happened now than later. (SILVER LINING, PEOPLE!!!)

Then as DH is at Home Depot to get all the necessary materials, he gets a flat tire.

The flat tire now has turned into changing all 4 tires, re-alignment of said new tires, new brake pads, changing the anti-freeze and lots of cha-ching!  I told him that I am not answering his phone calls the rest of the day since every time he calls more money is going out the door.

The good part is that I guess we are getting all our shitting stuff for the year done with in the first week of 2011, so technically the rest of the year should be SMOOTH sailing.  But as I am writing this, I realize that things always happen in 3’s.  Does the pipe leak, because it happened twice, count as two incidences, or one because it was the same pipe??  I hope it counts as two since I don’t think we have any more money to deal with other issues right now.

Sigh…..

By the way, the cat neighbor had to climb out of her window during the snow storm (there was so much snow she couldn’t get out her back door) to save two of the stray cats.  Just in time for spring so they can again give birth under our bbq.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Father Dearest, Joys of Home Ownership, Queens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

