Drastic Measures Taken

Tonight as every night we change diaper, watch Elmo, brush teeth, read books.  Not tonight.  Tonight was special.  After reading the stories (3 times each) together in the chair, it was time to go into bed, and for me to read the from the “big book” while sitting on the chair, almost out of her room.

I read, and read. And I stop. And wait. NO sound. I start to get up. As soon as I do, she wakes up. Mommy, read. Mommy, read.  No, O, it’s time for bed.

It then became a screeching and screaming fiasco.  DH went to put her in bed.  But she was crying and hiccuping.  Then he waited outside her bedroom door for her to go into bed. Cacky, GO AWAY! GO AWAY!  It was almost comical.  She was trying to get him to leave, so she could come out in the living room.  She tried to also put herself in Time Out spot. More screams, GO AWAY, CACKY!!!

Then I tried again. I went in her room told her to go to bed. She ran out. I put her back in her room. She tried to get me to read.  She wanted me to sit in the chair and do the whole reading again. I said no, Go to sleep. She ran out again.  I was practically at my wits’ end.  I didn’t know what else to do.  She was crying, screaming and hiccuping.  I finally said to her, O, if you do not go to bed by the time I count to 3 I am going to take your toys away.  I start counting. No, Mommy. Mommy, read. Still standing in the middle of room. I finish counting and she is nowhere near being in bed.

So I start removing toys. Now, she doesn’t have a lot of toys, but enough to make the removal a pain in the ass. I started moving stuff out of her room and into our room. This caught her attention.  She didn’t really try to stop me, but she was definitely shocked.  I took a paper bag, and shoved all the little toys in there. Now our room has whole stash of toys in an already overcrowded room. YEY!  But the message was received loud and clear.  She whimpered a little more. Cacky went in there, but she got in bed by herself.

What is the plan tomorrow??  That story has yet to be written. I think we are going to give her 1 toy, she can pick it. And she only gets the rest of the toys the next morning after she goes to sleep without hysterics.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Father Dearest, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

