New Favorite Game

Tonight’s activities were by far the best.  Mostly because it didn’t involve me running after her.  It was her take on Hide and Seek.  She would run in the living room, count to 4 and then run in.  At first I was just scaring her, but then, it was clear we had to play hide and seek.  But her version of hide and seek I need to stay in the same place.  When I tried to move as she was turning to run in the living room, she would say, No, Mommy. Stay! and push me on the bed under the covers.

So I am hidden under the covers, and I hear her saying the Pour (four) as she is running towards the bedroom.  She comes in, Where Mommy?? She asks out loud.  She looks behind the bed.  Here?  No, not here.  Then she would look in the closet, Mommy, here?  No, not here?  Mommy here?  As she lifts the covers, and is not even close to where I am but she clearly expects me there, Oh, yes, Mommy here!  Still feeling around for my leg. Then she would pull herself up on the bed, and crawl to the head of the bed, from where I jump up.  Screams and laughter!! Mommy, again, one, two, tree, pour (as she becomes a blond streak running out of our bedroom).  And I hear her counting again.

Outside of being really cute that each time she came in she did the “looking for Mommy” bit, but the repetition of the game was a welcomed relief because it didn’t require me to get up. If I did I was promptly put back in the bed under the covers.

The game ended in tears when I hid behind the bed, and put pillows under the covers where I was supposed to be. But she didn’t find me and she started crying.  Hugs and kisses, and Abby and Elmo made the tears go away!

Oh yeah, and tonight I managed to read half of the Grinch Who Stole Christmas. But the Night Before Christmas was quickly ripped out of my hand and thrown on the floor.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

