Bedtime Routine

I pray, and hope that I can introduce a new book into the mix.  But no. My every attempt is thwarted by a little person. The offensive book is quickly yanked from my clutching hands, and quickly replaced with the approved material.  Come to think of it, I wonder if in a previous life she used to be a censor for some communist country, preventing the public from getting their hands on such riveting tales as the Cat in the Hat.

The bedtime begins with getting changed in PJ, brushing teeth, which sometimes can become a trying time of me begging her that the two swooshes over her teeth is not enough to count as brushing your teeth.  A short, No, Mommy. Done. Put here. (pointing to where the toothbrush sits.)  Then I too play the diva and tell her I am very disappointed with her behavior tonight. At that point she gives in, I brush her teeth, and we watch Elmo.  Then we go read.

First we read the approved material sitting in the chair together. Sometimes, she tells me it’s for the big book, or I tell her it’s time for the big book. The big book is usually a more content driven book, that usually takes a longer time to read. Over several days or weeks.  This is how we read Cinderella or the Tales of Peter Rabbit.  Right now we are reading Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle.  The big book is usually read, with the light out in her room, me sitting on her stool by the door, and she is in bed.  Well tonight, as I was setting the chair by the door, I just kind of placed it there, with the book on it.  The chair was not placed correctly. No, Mommy, no.  She runs out of her bed, goes to the chair, and places is just so, as it has been placed every other night before this one. With the back against the door, at a 45 degree angle.  That is right…. Then she pats the chair down for me to sit.

After reading 10 pages, I am sick of the story, and I try to sneak in The Cat in the Hat for a change. No, Mommy, tears streaming down her cheek. Big book, Mommy. And hands me Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle to read.  I am so sick of this book. I think I only have another 120 pages, then we will have to switch. Maybe I’ll look for the Narnia books as a change.

But as soon as I walk away, O starts crying.  Now it’s DH’s turn. He swoops in, tells her to go to sleep, Daddy is right here. Ok, Cacky.  Go to sleep. Mommy is sleeping. Ok, Cacky.

And asleep she is now!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

