Returning to the Grind

I sound like a broken record, but I am so tired, and I have SOOOOO much to do. I started on the Christmas cards, but have only gotten to the Gs, where they get much longer.  I think this year, I am totally trimming down the list. No more friends’ parents if I haven’t seen them this year. I think next year, I’m going to do the Photo Card with O. And get a stamp for the return address instead of having to write all of them out.  I hope I get most of the them out this year.  If not, it wasn’t meant to be.

When my parents came to pick me up from the train station, I told them speficially, don’t bring O, becuase I don’t want her falling asleep in the car. My Dad is like don’t worry, she hasn’t been napping, and she’s very hyper, she won’t fall asleep.  Well, they get to the train station, and SHOCKINGLY, hope you are sitting down, she is ASLEEP!! My mom says Whoops!!  Whoops??  Will they be in the car with me when we drive up from there to New York, as she could be hysterically crying? Oh no!! But Whoops is an appropriate response.

You would think after spending a whole 3 days away from my darling daughter, she would be really excited to see me. Oh no… She was quite the diva, and turned up her nose at me.  She was not having any of it. She made it work for it.  Finally she opened up.

Fortunately for all involved, O was super great on the car ride. But she insisted on playing Peekaboo Barn on my iPhone.  Of course, she would push the home button, and somehow ended up calling JennyBean. I didn’t know who she was on the phone with, I think she pretty much heard me yelling at O.  I grabbed the phone, trying not to veer into the other lane, and put it on plane mode.  No more calling, but she did delete my Sudoku app.  She did entertain me with her vocal rendering of Tinkle, Tinkle Little Car.  And Honty Donty (all guess for this one will accepted).

When we got home, she became attached to my hip.  I couldn’t do anything without my 2-1/2 foot shadow following me.  I tried going to the bathroom in privacy, but she would knock on the door. Mommy, knock, knock.  (She actually says Knock, Knock.) Then she would put her little face between the door and the jam, and I heard the tears echo through the bathroom.

Fortunately, since she barely had a nap, she went to bed with no problem. And didn’t wake up at all at night!

Extra point translation: What is a Pupoon?? Hint, both Mommy and Cacky use it.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Returning to the Grind

  1. Aunty says:

    Humpty dumpty?

  2. Sam says:

    I got Humpty Dumpty too, but okay, what the heck is Pupoon? Um, love the return address stamp!!! Get one! Some websites have free shipping and 40% off, I want to shop around for an upgrade, Oh, and I will email you soon, I got distracted with Christmas stuff and sick kids :o(

  3. Sam says:

    wait, bathroom? um, no, still clueless…

  4. RidgewoodMom says:

    Recently she has called it “papoon”. And the answer is Shampoo! And no, I don’t know how she got the first “p” in the word. The mysteries of kids!

Leave a Reply

