O Has Found a Loophole

So far, O has been a really polite child. I would like to say that she learned it from her parents, but I doubt that’s true.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like we are rude to each other or anything, it’s just that I don’t think we say Excuse me a whole lot.  Thanks and please always. And with a toddler who has become a parrot and little sponge I am consciously trying to say those words even more.  O has said Pease and Tank you and Gorry (Sorry) for quite a while.  Sometimes I questions the Gorries.  I feel like she does something she’s not supposed to and she knows that if she says Gorry, and gives a little hug, all is forgiven.  For example, we play tickle, and she tickles and it quickly turns into her hitting, no longer tickling. And she looks at me to see if I caught on to what she is doing.  As soon as she sees my face and understand that I understand what she’s trying to pull off, she quickly rectifies the situation by say a quick Gorry, Mommy, Gorry and a hug.  But the way she says Gorry, she sounds annoyed, like how could I not know that she is sorry. It sounds more like, God, and bit of rolling of the eyes.

Lately she has also started saying Cume (Excuse me).  She’s said when she’s tried to get past my legs or Cacky’s legs around the coffee table. She’s said to the dolls sitting on the couch in her spot.  But today, in the car, I discovered that she has found the loop hole.  Basically, if you say Excuse me it clearly indicates that you are interrupting, you are aware you are interrupting but you will still be heard. Well, our two year old genius has figured this out.   Today in the car, DH and I were talking about our day, what we are going to have for dinner, and O was just talking and we weren’t listening. She finally started banging her hand on the arm rest and started, Cacky, Cume! Cume, Cacky!  At first he didn’t understand what she was saying.  And then it dawned on us. She’s trying to jump her turn, but in a polite way. So you kinda have to acknowledge it.  So now we have to strike a balance of being polite, yet learning to wait your turn. I passing on my parental responsibilities and hope the daycare will teach her this new skill set.

Also, check up on the new updates on The Joys of Motherhood and What O Is Reading!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

