Play Yard Bully

And now for the real update for today!

Yesterday I took O to the park while DH was watching his football game. And she encounters her first playground bully. The little boy was skinny with blond curly hair. He must have been three even though he was O’s height. The whole incident started over acorns. The playground has these little cups and cup like containers throughout the jungle gyms, a perfect place to stash acorns. He places acorns in this container and she starts doing the same thing, putting acorns int the same container. He runs back from taking acorns from another part of the play ground and when he sees her there, he pushes her and says go away, mine. O says no mine. He pushes her again. She turns around and looks at me all crestfallen, mommy?  And she walks towards me with her head down. I am shocked and I’m not sure if I did the right thing. I tell her, don’t worry he’s a mean boy who doesn’t want to share. Let’s go play down he slide. So we leave the evil kid to himself. 20 minutes later we are playing on this balancing beam, walking back and forth and jumping off of it when we get to the end. Other kids come and start doing the balance beam so we take turns. Let me just clarify, no one was playing on the balance beam before we got there, no one!!  He out of left field, literally, the blond evil kid jumps the line in front of O and goes on he balance beam. I had already looked around to figure out who his kid belonged to but I couldn’t tell. And the kid pushes her again and says my turn. Again shocked and I don’t know how to handle it. I keep O on the balance beam and eventually makes it to the end but very slowly just to piss us off. But because we didn’t back down he went away after that. Little badly behaved punk!  I will definitely keep my eye open for this little shit next week when we go to the playground.

O also had her two year check up with the doctor. Had her flu shot and Hepatitis B (or A) shot.  The doctor then asks, how many words does O say? A lot. 30, 40, 50? She asks. Kids her age should say 50 words. I proudly respond, Oh, no, a lot more than that. Great, great, she says.  Does she put words together to make sentences? Yes, she does. Give me an example. My mind goes blank.  I can not remember two words she puts together.  How could I forget, NO, Mommy, NO! AWAY! (To stop following her on the jungle gym). Or “I wanna it!! (Whines and cries).  And lately, I lo you! I miss you! (Which she said to Aunty Lena over google chat yesterday. I think it melted her heart a little bit!)  The only thing I come up with is Watch TV, Mommy! So now the doctor thinks that all we do is watch TV.  But I saved my integrity by not allowing the nurse to give her a lollipop for being a good girl with her shots. Then the shocking bit was that O is average height and weight. We kept thinking that she is on the small side since all the older kids around her are so much taller than her.  I will continue to make fun of her height!!  She’s our little shorty baby!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Play Yard Bully

  1. Aunty says:

    Two things:
    it did melt my heart!
    nothing wrong with being short….

Leave a Reply

