More Sleeping Woes

I sound like a broken record. I think it was that we were spoiled previously with the child that would go to sleep after I finished reading the book, kissing her good night, and walking out of the room while she was still awake. And all of this done before 7:15.  Now, we are in a different chapter in our lives.  Asleep by 8:45 without too many tears is a miracle. I, who was used to going to bed at 10:30 and waking up at 6 am, am being forced to stay up to ungodly hours of midnight, woken up by little tear soaked face next to my side of the bed at 4:30 am. At which point the little munchkin climbs into bed with us, proceeds to kick DH in the face, lay her unnaturally lead weight head on my chest.  This leads to over sleeping and waking up in panic at 6:30 am, at which point we are rushing like chickens with our heads cut off. Except for O who is taking her sweet-ass time drinking her hottt milkk (emphasis on the T and the K).

Email written last night at midnight to friends:

So thought all was good with O sleeping tonight. I guess if you look qt the time you probably figured out that something must have gone terribly terribly wrong.  I mean no nap and almost two hours at park. So i thought we wouldn’t hear a peep from her  She was pretty tired and cranky tonight. Several instances when she threw herself on the floor because she wasn’t getting her way.  Also very dramatic placing her head on her hands again for not getting her way. She did not eat except a bit of omelette today then for dinner she demanded Cheerios with milk. Normally she eats Cheerios from bowl no milk. But I put a little milk for her and let me tell you. She knows how to eat cereal with milk. She ate some Cheerios then she put the bowl to her lips to drink the milk. I helped her with that but I was impressed how she knew to do that. Obviously from day care. She had two bowls.
Then now just as I turned off the tv to go to sleep she was up. DH finally got her to bed but I can’t yet go to bedroom because I have to pass by her room. And since my glasses are int the bedroom I am now wearing my prescription sunglasses in the house… In the dark.
Sigh.  I think I can go back to my room in 5 minutes.
Alas a peep again. DH and I might end up sleeping in the living room.
About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

