And How Was Your Weekend??

I had a lovely weekend of battling a toddler to go to sleep. Any sleep. Nap time, bedtime, anything!

Nap times went something like this. O, it’s nap time. No, Mommy, nooooooo!  (screams)  Take her in her room.  More cries.  Leave her there, she walks out. This went on for 45 minutes. We let her stay in the living room, but just ignore her.  She starts playing by herself with the building blocks, but we keep ignoring her. One of the days, I even pretend that I’m napping, which was great because DH stayed and ignored her in the living room.  I watched a whole bunch of shows off of Prime Time OnDemand (But for some reason, the new episode of Parenthood is not up yet. How ANNOYING!!). She did not nap that day. The next day, same thing. No nap.  I ignore her again, and she just lays quietly on the couch.

Bedtime, though, that was by far the worse.  From last Wednesday to last night all the nights keep blending together.  I think on Saturday night, I ended up reading to her while she lay in bed.  She fell asleep. Then promptly at 11:30 pm she got up. DH went in there, and he too fell asleep on the floor next to her.  He woke up sometime in the middle of the night, and came in the bedroom. At 4:30 am, I wake up thinking that I heard little pitter patter, and I look down and I see something that appears to be a small body on the cot next to the bed. I reach down, and it is her…. half on the cot, half on the floor.  As soon as she feels me, she moves up in the cot, and put the comforter on her, and we all fall back asleep, until the morning.

Then last night was football night, so we couldn’t watch Elmo because the DVR is on the box that is in the living room. So I brought the laptop in her bedroom and we watched Toy Story. As soon as the movie ended she was up.  So back again to ignoring her, and more tears.  She was clearly tired (both days) because she would lean on me (we wouldn’t let her sit on the couch again), and her little head would lean on me, and her eyes would close. Or she would grab one of her stuffed toys (who looks like a monster from Monsters Inc, but is one of the Mascots from the Vancouver winter games), and she would go under the coffee table and try to sleep.

Another maneuver was to take her cute little hand, and pat me ever so gently on my arm, leg, thigh, Mommy, she would say very gently. Pat, pat.  Mommy. Mommy.  O, are you tired? Yeah (tears). Then go to sleep. Nooo… (more tears). O, baby, you need to go to sleep. Look at you! You are falling asleep standing up.  I finally somehow put her in her bed, I stand with my back to her, not near her. The nightlight is off, because that thing is so freaking BRIGHT, that we think that when she wakes herself up in the middle of the night, the light is so bright, that she is really up then.

Because of her continued request for Monkers, and the fact that her new favorite stuffed toy is like a Monker, the sleep issues have nothing to do with the movie, rather she fears that we are not going to be there in the morning.  I hope we can prove to her that we will be there, and start sleeping through the night.  I like my sleep too much!

On a side note, after the argument with DH last week when he slept through most of the sleep chaos on Wednesday night, last night he says to me, and I AM QUOTING: “You are doing a really great job with her, putting her to sleep.” I do a double take, Who are you and what have you done to my husband???  And, it gets BETTER: “Don’t worry, tonight, I’ll go into her room if she gets up in the middle of the night.”  WHAAAAAAAAAAAT???????????  What is going on here???  Shocked! I of course, just said, Thanks! It hasn’t been easy.  Go team!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Father Dearest, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

