O, Stuborness, I Know Thee

A bit dramatic? Possibly, but then if you knew my night, I think you might understand the drama. Again it has to do with sleep.
Last O slept in our room, on a cot next to our bed, while holding my hand, and I was watching Grey’s Anatomy. She slept the whole night. The conclusion has been that she is indeed having nightmares. And since I too had nightmares as a child after watching Nightmare on Elm Street, I completely relate and understand. So I am ok with her sleeping in our room just not our bed.
Tonight, armed with new found understanding and compassion, I and DH were ready to deal with what O will bring us. Or so we thought. Please let me elaborate. It is now 10:50 pm and she is still up, playing Mommy, come!
The evening started off really well. After Aunty Lina’s recommendation, we played mostly in her room to make it fun. And in the process I found the nightlight (Yey!!). Then we had dinner together and O actually ate eggplant parmigiana, which completely shocked me because she doesn’t eat anything I put in front of her AND it was mostly veggies. I was happy and optimistic about bedtime. Again, delusional.
Then we had a bath, brushed teeth, watched Elmo, then reading time. I knew as I was trying to read that the rest of the evening won’t be good. None of the stories I started she liked. Finally I had to cut the whole thing off. Then I lay on the floor next to her bed holding her hand. I know she falls asleep so I gingerly extract my finger from her vice grip hold. The process is very delicate and you can’t force it. You can’t do any sudden movements and you definitely can not get comfortable in any direction of finger removal or you will be forced to start from scratch.
She pops out 5 minutes after I break free. I try putting her back in her room. No go. I try taking her to our room on the cot. No go. Then we decide to finally ignore and she just hangs out in the living room while we watch a show. We completely ignore her. She is clearly bored because she starts playing with some tags on the table. She leans on the couch, but not on it because we don’t want her to fall asleep on the couch. Then after about 45 minutes of complete boredom I ask her if she wants to go to bed. It is now 9:45. Oh yeah we went to her room to read at 7:45. I take her to the cot I lay on the bed, thinking she’ll be out in 10 minutes. Oh no just when I think she’s out and I walk out, she’s up.
Then the whole hanging out in the living room all bored starts. Finally she says she’s tired and I take her back to the cot and I walk out. After 40 minutes of walking out and me putting her back in, I’m happy to announce that it is now 11:10 and she has not made an appearance in 15 minutes. I assume she is asleep and we can finally go to sleep.
Can’t wait to see what tomorrow holds!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to O, Stuborness, I Know Thee

  1. Aunty says:

    Did she cry this time or just get up? I think if she didn’t cry it is progress!

  2. Sam says:

    Maybe too much cheese at dinnertime, before bed??? That always gives me and Bean nightmares (although it’s catch 22 as most foods she likes are cheesey). Our pediatrician just told us to try and keep them in cribs for sleep training as it will be harder when they can break free, any chance you can put the crib up (or pak and play) while you do that? Do you let her cry? Some people don’t, some do, we definitely do and it’s been helping…

  3. RidgewoodMom says:

    Aunty, Don’t get me wrong. She was crying. It varied in octaves and intensity, but it was still there.
    Sam, It’s too late for cribs or play pens. She can climb out of both. She likes being able to come out when she wants, but pretty annoying for us. I do let her cry, but because she is mobile, she is pretty much crying in the living room, tear stained face, and little hand on my arm gently patting me, Mommy…hiccup, Mommy…. I think it’s a phase because she was doing really well before the week off vacay. I think she thinks we are going to run away and not come back. Tonight we finally broke. She was asleep by herself, in her room by 8:45 pm. Pretty good!

Leave a Reply

