A Glimpse Into My Night

Walked O home from daycare.
Watching Sesame Street.  Gover is silly.  And Murray (my favorite character) she calls him Moory (super cute).  I kept asking her to tell me his name just for a good laugh.
Then we played a little in her room with the Francat, and she proceeded to press the button that says, Hi O, this is your Auntie Lena and Uncle S. Hope you’re having a great day! Bye.  (it’s from build a bear workshop, and Auntie Lena recorded her voice). Super cute the first three times.  After 10 minutes of looping the greeting, not so cute. And again she tried to put the round shoes of the Cat on the her feet. Needless to say, they didn’t fit.
Then Brushing teeth, Elmo and reading, and then supposedly bedtime.
From 8:15 to 9:30 pm, there was a lot of getting out of bed and crying.
At around 9:45 I went to bed, and she stayed in the living room, and was going to sleep on the couch. I was nervous that she was going to fall off the couch and hit her head on the coffee table.
I take in her room, hysterically crying. And I set myself up to sleep next to her on the floor
No good. She kept having issues with her blanket and crying.
Then finally at like 10:15, I just had it.  I went into the living room, I watched The Good Wife on DVR.   (SPOILER ALERT: Can you believe what’s his name deleted Will’s voice mail??  I have to be honest. I’ve had a crush on “Will” since his first appearance on Dead Poets Society, so I’m really happy that I now have a weekly fix of watching him on-screen.)
She came out with me, asked for milk, and we watched the Good Wife together, while she bounced from pillow to pillow.
11 pm rolls around, she’s still wide awake.
I say good night. And I take her to her room as she is screaming.  Finally DH gets his ass out of bed, and he tries something, and she’s just screaming. I can tell she wants to come sleep in our bed.
So finally I grab her cot from the basement and make her sleep in the cot, next to our bed, as I hold her hand while she’s falling asleep.

I am mentally exhausted. I’ve randomly burst into tears, and then this morning DH and I had a fight. Because as usual, I can not POSSIBLY complain about anything.  We are starting to finish the basement and make it as a family room.  The basement is currently full of stuff.  And somehow, in between looking after O and just trying to keep my sanity, I should of course be able to clean the basement. So he did yesterday. He put a lot of stuff in the back, and a whole pile of things in the middle.  Then he complains how much stuff we have (becuase of course, it’s only my stuff). Not to mention that I’ve asked him to throw stuff out for MONTHS, and it’s still there.  And O has been really difficult with sleeping the last few weeks, and I don’t understand why he has to throw this on top of everything, and hold me responsible for it.

I’m just tired. And sad….

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Glimpse Into My Night

  1. Pingback: And How Was Your Weekend?? | RigdewoodMom's Blog

Leave a Reply

