Sweet Dreams…?

Since our apartment is only a two bedroom, it’s difficult when we have guests over especially now that O is too old to be a in a playpen.  My cousin and her friend who is a boy came to stay over one night.  I put them on a blow mattress in O’s room, and O was to sleep in our room…. in her brand new cot.  Mmm… even the best laid plans…She basically refused to go on the cot.  So she fell asleep on our bed, which was fine, but when I tried to move her, she promptly climbed back into our bed.  So we were forced to share a bed with a little munchkin.  Before we climbed into bed to go sleep, she was sound asleep, no movement.  The second we climbed in, the tossing and turning from her started.  Kicking… pushing…since DH works physically, I tried to hold her legs from kicking. The whole night I barely got any sleep. At work the next day I was a freaking zombie. It took me 5 minutes to get a simple thought out, and I am surprised that I didn’t promise the world to various clients.  But I guess I have to wait to see the full damage today!!

Then last night, bedtime, she passed out.  No walking out of her room all sad with her Frankie doll and blanket in hand.  But just to keep us on our toes, she started crying at 11:30 and then again at 5:10 am coming into our room asking for MIK, mommy, MIK.  Oh no you don’t!!  We will not start a new trend of getting up at 5:10 am.  When I said no, she tried to climb into our bed.  And NO, we will not get into that habit as well. So I walked her back into her room, crying hysterically, placed her back in bed.  She cried for 5 minutes, and when she saw I was not coming back in, she must have fallen back asleep. At 6:30 am she waddles back into our room, she reaches for glasses on the night stand. Mommy, Up.  Mommy, Up.  Mommy, Gasses!  6:30 am is much more respectable a time to get up.  And to be honest this was the best mood ever when she’s woken up. Usually, she’s cranky and impatient.  But this time she waited for her Hot MIK, and although not as patiently as I would like, there was absolutely no whining, and even some smiles.  Maybe I finally discovered the secret to a happy baby morning!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

