Grandparents Are Great

It’s going to be 3 weekends in a row that we’ve spent with my parents.  O has really opened up to them, if not ALL other people. This is great because it gives us a little break (even though the break spent this weekend was to restain a ginormous deck).  Ghema and Papa are doing a great job with O.  So much so, that today she did not want me to touch her during the diaper change.  Ghema needed to come and change her PRONTO!!

But, and here is the biggest BUT!  Grandparents find everything O does super cute.  Even if the stuff she’s actually doing is not good.  If we tell her to do anything, her default answer is, No, Mommy, no! To this both my parents laugh. And O continues telling us NO.  At dinner, she doesn’t want to eat, so she runs around, and she runs around the hot BBQ.  I tell her she can’t do it.  Her answer is, No, MOMMY!  My mom laughs.  I give O a warning, and she stops.  Then O wants to sit on Ghema’s chair, while Ghema is still eating.  We tell her, she already has a chair, and she has to sit in her chair.  Ghema says, it’s OK, I’ll sit with her.  I tell her, that’s not right.  And that every time they laugh, O realizes she’s getting a reaction, and she is undermining the discipline we are trying to give out.  O then runs from the chair, throws herself dramatically with her head buried in her hands toward the wall.  Ghema starts to laugh, and I give her the evil eye.

My parents are supposed to watch O for the week in September at their house. I can only image what kind of bad habits she will pick up from there.  I will definitely have to set some very strict rules that need to be followed.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Father Dearest, Mommy Dearest, Parents and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

