Empathetic Baby

When I picked up O at day care yesterday, they were watching a movie, I think the Garfield movie.  I’ve never seen it so I have no idea of the plot line.  But when I walked in, there was a dog on the screen who seem either lost or stray.  O was very excited about the movie.  Kept pointing to it, and talking about it.  I was talking to V, not really paying attention.  Then all of a sudden I look at O, and she is hysterically crying.  And through the tears she tells us, Puppy Sad! Puppy, cying!  I look at the screen, and it appears that the dog is indeed sad, and lonely.  But O is inconsolable!! She is so sad for the puppy, that she doesn’t see a little old lady picks him up and take him home.  We try to calm her down, and explain the puppy found a home.  The rest of the kids around her try to help her too, but it takes quite a bit to calm her down.

Finally we leave, and Cacky is at the car.  She then tells him the story of the puppy and how sad he is.  Half way home, she again starts crying about the puppy.  We try to console her, and show her all the puppies on the street with their owners, and seems to work.

I guess I don’t have to worry about her being empathetic. I just home this empathy translates to people as well as animals.

Another cute and sad movie story, last Sunday I put on Monsters Inc while I was making dinner.  She was on the couch watching it, then at the part where Sully scares the fake kid, but Boo is in the fake room, and Boo starts crying…. O comes around the corner of the island in the kitchen, bottom lip quivering (I’m just about to drain the gnocchi), and I ask her, Are you scared?  Yeah, mommy, cared!  I drain the gnocchi first, then I pick her up, and she’s crying.  Do you want to turn the movie off?  Yeah…. Do you want Sesame Street?  Yeah…  So we switch to Sesame Street.

Maybe dreams of sad puppies wakes her up in the middle of night….

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Empathetic Baby

  1. Aunty says:

    Emphany is quite an advanced emotion! She’s so advanced

Leave a Reply

