Food Update

I am still trying to get O to try new foods.  And it’s still an uphill battle.  I have a new strategy (not very original, but…)  I just chop things up, put them in little cups or bowls.  I was very happy to see that over the weekend, she finally tried and like red pepper.  It was a huge mystery why she always turned her head and nose up at the red peppers. I mean they are sweet, they are red, and they are really yummy.  In one of her plates with the divides, I put omelet in the large area, then in the other two I put red peppers.  And finally she started gumming the peppers.  So yey! It’s not just fruits she will eat.

Then the other day, I made some banana bread with the leftover bananas that she was refusing to eat.  Brought some to the office (huge success), then I gave O a little bite. And again, after turning her nose at it, she finally tasted it and love it, and actually asked for Mo! Mo, Mommy!

In a weird turn of events, she is now off of the YoBaby Yogurt.  Not sure what the deal is, but she is no longer interested in eating yogurt. I’ve had to take 6 packs of yogurt to day care just so they don’t go bad.  It’s a waste of money.  And not to mention, that my mom got her like a 12 pack of the yogurt at BJs.

The Smooze are still her favorite. Even though, she waves the pack around without eating it sometimes, but she gets really excited over them, and makes a huge mess as the icy starts to melt and run down her chin.  These are ALWAYS to be eaten outside!!

Then in a Bad Parent and slightly low class parenting, we went to Wendy’s over the weekend. First of all, we have been making our own ice tea at home, brewing regular tea and putting in the fridge, without adding sugar.  So drinking the coke at Wendy’s was like drinking plain sugar, I almost threw up. But coke with burger and fries is a requirement.  Since we were at Wendy’s we made the decision to offer O a few fries, why deny her the greasy goodness?  She was mostly interested in the ketchup (to be expected).  And took absolutely no interest in the fries. Instead she ate half my burger…no bun, just the beef patty with cheese.  I basically ate the fries only….  I guess that’s a good thing.  Maybe the beef patty is the healthiest thing, no??  Or maybe the whole thing is just gross.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food Update

  1. Pingback: Survived the Holidays | RigdewoodMom's Blog

Leave a Reply

