Water meters

WARNING!!  This is a boring house owning post.  Sorry….

New York City has installed automatic water meter readers.  Before owning a house, I never had to worry about energy efficient and water efficient appliances.  Being a girl that does everything via internet rather than talking to a person (hope and pray that Time Warner will eventually get a really efficient website instead of the bullshit none sense they call information on their backwards, counter-intuitive website so I don’t ever EVER have to hear the wait music and being told, wait time is 3 hours and 45 minutes AHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!)  But I digress….  So being a girl of the internet usage, I LOVE, absolutely LOVE the new automatic system.  And not only that, a control freak bordering on obsession.  Today I recieved notice (Ok, maybe hte letter didn’t come today, I have to be honest I haven’t opened mail in like two weeks… also a symptom of the internet user because all bills are viewed and paid online, so I can go two weeks without opening mail) and I was able to log in and see DAILY, I mean FREAKING daily water usage.  AND on top of that you could view how much the payments were before we bought the house, and had the Flood of 2009.

More on the Flood of 2009.  One February night, at like 2:30 am, I kept hearing a noise coming from the basement.  At first I thought it was the heater going, but sounded like water running.  I finally decide to go check on the noise, and there in the basement the water tank burst and water was running down it.  We already had about 3 inches of water in certain places. So we turn off the water heater, then we have to figure out where the main  house water valve is.  And we stumble and find it.  Then we start pailing water for the next few hours, until O gets up.

We ended up installing a tankless water heater, and it’s been great.  The only thing I would say that we should have bought one with higher gallons per minute.  (Here is a really good guide to figure out what you need.)  I did use the guide to figure how much gpm we needed, but the Home Depot people convinced DH that the one they were selling us was OK.  What happens is that if I’m showering and the people upstairs are showering or running their washing machine, I do not have hot water.  But as soon as someone finishes, the hot water kicks back up again.  So a lot less times without hot water.

But the point is, after checking the new online system I was able to figure out that the new tankless water heater, and our efficient dish washer and washing machine we are saving over $200 a year.  FANTASTIC!!!  I love the validation.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Queens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

