Just Like JB

My friend JB came over this weekend, and O was on her bestest behavior. I was actually really impressed how open and friendly she was.  JB and I chatted about wedding stuff, baby stuff, work stuff, watch some World Cup soccer games.  But mostly O was the center of attention.

As soon as JB stepped in the house, O started showing off all her skills.  Jumping, running, cooing at her, chatting with her. I mean, the way she acted is the reason why other couples get fooled into thinking that Yes, we should have a baby. Look how cute she is.  BUYER BEWARE!!! That’s all I say.

But the cutest, I mean the absolute cutest is the following: (I really hope I do it justice)

As the hostess, I put out some watermelon, which O has recently discovered as her new favorite fruit.  JB asks for a paper towel, to make sure she doesn’t drip on the couch. I give her one.  O, comes running from around the corner, and she too asks for a paper towel. Odd, because usually she doesn’t care if she gets messy while she eats.  So I give O the paper towel.  And she eyes JB.  She keeps looking back at her to see how she’s eating her watermelon with the paper towel.  JB is holding a the slice in the paper towel and eating it that way. O can’t figure out exactly how to do it. So I help her, and put the watermelon slice in the paper towel and hand it to her. I try to arrange the paper towel so she won’t eat the paper towel, and she yells NO, and pushes my hand away.  And there they were, the two of them eating watermelon.

Then at some point, they both end up in the living room couch, each holding a baby (dolls, not real babies).  O has to arrange the way she’s holding her baby to match exactly how JB is holding her baby doll.

It was just super cute how she wanted to do everything that JB was doing.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

