What Was the Hardest Part so far?

I started thinking about this recently…this was brought on by how lovely O has been the last few weeks, an actual fun, cutesy joy to be around…  I know this is only a phase, so I have to savor it, and look back at pictures fondly.  There have been some really rough patches, where I would think what ever possessed me to think that having a child would be amazing??  So here are a few of the worst periods from my perspective:

  1. The first two weeks after we came back from the hospital.  Getting used to having a baby, how fragile she was… waking up in the middle of night and at 5 am to feed her.  My mom was a great help the first night.  Because she stayed with us the first night back from the hospital, and it was great to get a good night sleep without being woken up in the middle of the night to be checked and prodded.  It was also really tough because O didn’t want to take the boob.  We spent the first two weeks constantly frustrated with each other.  Then finally we came to an understanding, You won’t take the boob, I’ll continue to pump and give you breast milk from the bottle, alternating with formula.
  2. DH’s involvement.  Which for the first year of her life was very minimal.  Now that she’s more interactive, he does more stuff with her. But don’t get me wrong, it’s not like he volunteers to take out to the park by himself.
  3. At like 4 months when she started sleeping less, and being awake more.  That was tough on me.  But then she went to daycare, and I went back to work.  And now we are in our system.
  4. Right before she started walking unassisted.  This was a grueling month where my back is still looking to get back to normal. She would want to walk everywhere, but she was pretty short still, so I would be constantly bent over holding her up by her arms.  But then when she finally started walking, she was much more independent in getting places.
  5. 13 months to about 18 months, when she needed an audience to play, one of us, preferably me, needed to be near her at ALL times.  She is slowly starting to play in her room more.  The only me time I have is if I’m going to the bathroom.  I take my time coming out….
  6. Temper Tantrums, anytime and anywhere.  We are working hard on minimizing this especially when we are out in public.

The rest of time it hasn’t been roses, but these times would definitely be marked as being challenging to say the least.  Please, please don’t change next week… remain being the same funny, sweet toddler….

As a monumental achievement, yesterday she showed me how she jumps in place.  Both feet do not touch the floor, however, it’s more of a wobbly jump, but super cute anyway. It’s her new favorite thing to do.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

