Yesterday I Became One of THOSE Mothers

Who can only have conversations about her kids, and look how cute and wonderful they are.  I caught my coworkers snickering a little bit.  It could have been that I was in a weird mood and made some really bad jokes, or it could be that I was in full half hour discussion at how cute O is.  In all fairness my coworker started it by showing the new Jean design Huggie Diapers.  But I didn’t have to go into a full explanation about O after the diaper discussion was over.

And now, I have to share with you too how cute O is.   Yesterday morning she wanted me to do her hair.  This was a HUGE accomplishment because usually DH and I have to hold her down and try to put berets or her hair in pigtails.  And after all the effort, of redoing them because she moved her head so much the pigtails are crooked, she immediately pulls them out.  But yesterday, she grabbed one of the rubber bands from my night stand, and put it on top of her head. I asked her if she wanted her hair up, she nodded yes, and she stood still as I put both pigtails then. Then she ran to the mirror, and gave herself a kiss (mental note… must clean the mirror this weekend, it has way too many smudges and kiss smears on it. Gross!)

On Tuesday when we picked her up from day care, we asked, did you have a good time?  Nooo, she shook her head.  She didn’t elaborate, I probably wouldn’t have understood, and she’s allowed to have a bad day.

When I put her to bed, after I finished reading her story, I went up to her, gave her a kiss good night, and then she gave me each of stuffed animals to kiss… Frankie Doll, Sophie the Bunny, and the Yet-To-Be-Named Bear…. Had to kiss them twice.  Then she kissed them, and then I walked away….

This morning I dropped her off at daycare, and she gave me a huge HUG, and said BEIE!  And two kisses, one on each cheek.  Then she blew her father a kiss.

And she is also SMARTEST BABY EVER!!!  She is telling us now about her potty situation.  As I mentioned, it’s usually after the fact.  But I think it’s a huge start.  Last night she ran in the corner to hide to go caca.  For the potty training, I think we need to start making a commitment to it.  First, she can no longer be wearing onesies.  Much too complicated to get down in time.  Buy some size 4 pull ups.  The size 5s are much too big, but just the right size for night.

She tells us all time how she hurt herself.  She banged her head, she points to the door jam, then her head, to show us what happened.  This morning, she pointed to a scar on Daddy’s arm, and said Booboo.  Then said the words, PAPER TOWELS. I KID YOU NOT!!!  This morning was just a really impressive day to see how much stuff she knows.  At day care they told me that’s she trying to say sentences, like, Raining outside.  The verb is missing, but it’s pretty impressive.

Today is a good day to be a Mom!!!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Father Dearest, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yesterday I Became One of THOSE Mothers

  1. Aunty says:

    Sounds fab! I can wait to see her again?

Leave a Reply

