Freaking Cats

I was going to write the posts in chronological order, but this one, must be SHARED now!

As you might know, the cat situation is still out of control.  The Little Gray one has been hanging out in our backyard, usually just lounging in the middle of the yard.  We thought she looked pregnant again.  When we open the hatch to the basement, she tries to run in, so DH has to chase her away all the time.  We talked about putting hot pepper flakes and cayenne paper all over the yard to keep them out, but we got kinda lazy about it.  This weekend we went away (more to come about that chaos).  The next morning after we get back, DH is outside having a cigarette, and tells me, The freaking cat gave birth under our barbecue!!!

Yes, it’s true…. the cat this year chose our BBQ as the best place for her to give birth.

We both become enraged.  If only the Italian lady would STOP feeding the cats!  I knew the gray one was trouble!  She’s a WHORE!  Every freaking year!  And last year, she abandoned her kittens.  So we are like, We ARE NOT raising freaking cats! I hate cats! Have never been a cat person, and the stray cat situation in our backyard has made me even less of a cat person.

I was so upset about this, that I didn’t even want to look at the kittens, because I’m sure I’ll see them, and be like, OH MY GOD, they are so cute!  And I definitely do NOT want to do that.  I start googling the ASPCA and stray animal websites for NYC.  Fuming, we drop O at day care,  head to work, and once there I call 311.  First experience ever calling 311, and I have to say, as a sidebar, that it was a completely pleasant experience.  My wait time was less than trying to get ahold of my medical insurance people.  Waiting to have someone at the NYC Animal Control Center, that was a different story; I was on hold for 45 minutes.  I finally get someone on the phone, and they tell me the following: I need to catch the mom and the kittens.  They can send someone to pick them up, but there is only 1 van per borough, and it could be anytime between 8 am and 6 pm.  Or we can drop off the cats at the center either in Queens (open the odd hours of Wednesday and Thursday from 3 pm to 5 pm… WHAT THE FUCK are those hours about?  Those aren’t even banking hours!!!) or Brooklyn (open 7 days a week between 8 am and 8 pm. More like it… I guess Brooklyn has a bigger cat problem than Queens?).  Basically if we don’t catch the mom, they will take the kittens, but most likely they will euthanize them since they probably won’t have an adoptive cat mom to care for them.  GREAT!  Now I feel bad for nasty, stray cats!

I get home, leave a note for the neighbor, to call me.  She calls, and pretty much tells me that she will get a trap from some friend to catch the mama cat.  Whatever, as long as the cats are NOT my problem, I don’t care. I want them in a box and on her back porch, not mine.

Then the kicker is, I tell my parents about the cat, and my Dad called me three times to ask him if I can give him a cat… Not only are there stray cats in South Jersey, so I’m sure he can get his own cat, he said he will make a special trip to QUEENS to pick up the kitten.  I try to explain to him that the NYACC isn’t taking the kittens without the mama unless they are 6 weeks old, and that we will NOT under any circumstances be keeping the kittens until they are 6 weeks old.  Not under our BBQ, not with O roaming around the yard.

I did finally look at the kittens last night, and they are cute.  Only one of them looks like the mama, and the other 4 look like the dad, which we guess to be the black and white one that hangs out in the neighbor’s yard and gets beat up by the Ginger cat.

The first thing my dad did this morning was to send me 10 pictures of cute kittens…. Seriously, he’s like another child…

Mom Cat went to eat, and we put the kittens in a box. Then under the BBQ cover. Mom is in there now.

O looking at the kittens and super excited about them.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Hood, Queens and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Freaking Cats

  1. Pingback: Formal Apology « RigdewoodMom's Blog

  2. Pingback: Snausage Dog V. Cats: Round 78 | RigdewoodMom's Blog

  3. Pingback: Veggies in the Garden | RigdewoodMom's Blog

Leave a Reply

