Mommy’s Little Helper

O leaves a trail of disaster after her… Go Fish Cards, Charley Harper Flash Cards, toys… she pulls all her board books off the shelf… start taking her newly laundered and folded clothes out of her dresser.

But now we started a new routine right before bedtime.  In her bedroom, we start cleaning up her room. We start off with the random toys on her carpet.  She takes each one as I point to, and she puts in her toy box.  Then with the books…. I feel that with the books she is in a race with herself to see how quickly she can shove the books in the bookcase.  Each crayon then needs to be put in the box.  And the box is then put gently on the shelf.  But it has to be the 2nd shelf, not the bottom. The flash cards go on the bottom, and you can’t mix the two up.

Over the weekend, I gave her even more responsibility.  She helped me put dishes away.  Ok, not the real plates, but her plastic plates.  I would give her the plate, and she would put it in her cupboard.   Then as I was putting a mug away, I look down, and she grabbed a real ceramic plate from the dishwasher so quickly and so expertly, I couldn’t believe it!  That just shows, you really need to explain why she should or should not touch something.

But she is very helpful!  So I think next week, she’ll be swiffering the floors all by herself!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mommy’s Little Helper

  1. Aunty says:

    Wow what a clever girl!

Leave a Reply

