I’m Sorry!

This apology is to my DH’s friend’s wife.  I know, who is she to me?  Well, technically just a peripheral friend I guess.  But this is to her.

Let me paint the picture. We rented a cottage a few summers ago with DH’s friends and their wives and families.  All of the couples did not have any kids, except this one couple who had a three or four year old son.  There were also two dogs, our Snausage and another dog.  The dogs got along fine, and the little boy kept pushing the dogs, taking their food, spitting in their water.  And as we the dog owners pointed out not to do A, B, C, or D, his mom,would say, “It’s ok” basically not re-enforcing the fact that you should NOT take food from a dog, or feed the dogs when they are near each other just for his own safety. Then at bed time, the mom stayed in the room with the little boy for hours.  So in our opinion (the non-parents of the group) we thought the little boy was being spoiled and undisciplined. (Granted I still think this on some level, but what happened next, I could have controlled.)  At dinner, the little boy wanted bread.  The mom put butter on the bread, and there was no bread left. Then he basically had a meltdown because the bread had butter.  After 10 minutes of discussing the butter situation, I basically grabbed the bread and licked the butter off.  Everyone was shocked!  But at least it distracted him and he forgot about it.

Now, as a mother, although I don’t agree with how they were dealing with the situation, but it was not my place to do that.  I mean they are his parents, and they should deal with it. And sometimes O is so out of control, that nothing I do will ever pacify her.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Mommy Dearest and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

