O, Stoller How I Hate Thee

This weekend, probably one of the coldest weekend EVER in NYC, O and I went to the Natural History Museum. We made in alright. She took a catnap in the car, but then when we finally found a parking spot, I had to put the stroller together.  It was such a pain. There is absolutely NO way to put the Bugaboo Cameleon gracefully.  And if there is ONE person out there who can, please let me know.  I think this stroller is only meant for a very small parenting population, and here are the requirements, and you should meet ALL of these:

  • live on the first floor.  Never take it apart
  • Everything is within walking distance
  • Never EVER take the NYC public transport.  To take the bus, you need to fold up the stroller.  Mmm… yeah good luck with that….carrying two pieces plus a baby, plus probably a diaper bag.  NO FREAKING WAY!!  Then the subway stairs. There is no physical way to pick up the stroller to take it up the stairs.  There is no bar in the back of the stroller to pick it up.   You can pull it up using the handle, but you need to hold it UNDER the top level that is adjustable for height.
  • Do not have any stairs leading to the house.  Also NOT fun.

I wish, OH GOD, how I wish someone would have sat me down, and provided me with the pros and cons.  And people at Buy Buy Baby or Giggle ever say to practice taking apart a stroller before deciding on it.  I see their game…. they want to make the most money, and by pointing out its faults, I think less people would buy this stroller. My advice before choosing a stroller is to do the following:

  • Take apart the stroller at the store, and try to put it back together. I understand that without being familiar with it, it will be hard.  But honestly, go back and try and try until you feel comfortable.
  • And the next one is a tough one, because most women go stroller shopping whey they are pregnant, so you can’t really pick it up.  I suggest bringing a close girlfriend that will be more than willing to tell you the truth about it.  Ask her to carry it around the store twice (I am referring here to a Buy Buy Baby or some such big store).  You can really torture your friend by asking her to hold a diaper bag (or a hobo purse which is a similar size), and just image that in addition to the stroller and the diaper bag you will have a baby.  Rate her comfort level.
  • Hold a big stuffed animal in your hands like a baby, and the diaper bag (or hobo purse) and try putting the stroller together or apart.  How hard or easy it is?
  • Ask your friend to pick up the stroller (not folded, but as you would going up and down stairs). I would even add a watermelon in there for the baby.  How easy is it for her to pick it up?
  • Have your baby daddy put fold and unfold the stroller.  Does it take him a PhD in Physics and Mechanics to put it together?  If so, move on…

I know the pros for the Bugaboo. I’ve written about it.  But as O gets older, I realize that a smaller more compact stroller will be much more helpful.  Yes, I know the bassinet, what a joy!!  That is totally worth the additional $500 for the stroller, no?  Yes, in my case I did find it helpful, but to be honest, I still ended up taking O on a walk with her in her car seat.  But she did use it for nap and sleeping in when she was little.  But that could have easily been done using her Pack and Play.

I guess what I am saying is, if I had to do it all over again, I don’t think I would have picked this stroller.  I would have gone with something lighter. Babies are small for such a short period of time, that it’s much more useful to have a stroller that will be more functional when she is 8 months plus.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to O, Stoller How I Hate Thee

  1. Sam says:

    HA! When I was pregnant in Buy Buy Baby checking out double strollers with a sales person, I did moan that I felt bad that babas would never have a bassinet stroller like the Bugaboo and the sales person DID tell us that it’s not good for suburbanites that need to travel in cars to get places, they never said why though or maybe I wasn’t listening. Now I know why those mclaren ones are so popular with toddlers, although I don’t think they handle all that well. The city wheels mini is popular in suburbia at the moment

    • RidgewoodMom says:

      Ah… At least they told you. My mom was even stalking the sales girl at the one near her, but I think the girl smelled blood with my mom, so she said NADA about the cons. I have half a mind to sell it on craigslist. But you know, I don’t want to offend my mom. She wanted it and loved it! OH yeah, and congrats!!!

Leave a Reply

