Napping Is for Fools

For a good two months, there was a battle at nap time.  The morning nap usually there was no problem. She would sleep for 45 minutes or an hour.  But the afternoon nap… that is a NIGHTMARE!!!  I mean the girl did not want to sleep.  And i would put her down, and she would cry for 45 minutes or longer, and sometimes she would not even fall asleep.  Or she would finally fall asleep at 4:30 only to wake her up at 5:30 because she would need to go to bed for the evening at 6:30 pm.  AWFUL!!

I tried putting her on my chest to sleep.  This created several problems. 1. Her weight would start affecting my breathing.  She is SO heavy!!  2. I couldn’t move.  The position I was in when she fell asleep, that was the position I needed to stay in the whole time. 3. My arms would fall asleep.  4. I couldn’t even watch TV.  Just stare at the ceiling for an hour.

Then I tried putting her in her crib, and just rubbing her back, or holding her hand. This created other problems… 1. My back would start hurting bending over the railing.  Becuase of course, as soon as I moved, she would start crying. 2. She would hold my hand with death grip strength, and there was NO way to gently make an exit. 3.  She knows when I moved.  Every time, all the time.

During Christmas holiday, I stopped torturing myself and O with two naps. I am happy to announce even though the books say babies and young toddlers need two naps, we are down to one 2 hour nap.  And it is now on schedule…at 12:30ish she needs to start napping.

And now we are both happier, less cranky, and mommy has a 2 hour break in the day.  YEY

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Health, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

