Birthdays

10 reasons I hate my birthday

  1. It’s so close to Christmas
  2. Even I forgot it was my birthday
  3. People combine Birthday and Christmas presents
  4. It’s always cold
  5. We are always busy getting ready to go somewhere… my parents, DH’s parents… something
  6. Everyone is too busy to go out to dinner
  7. I’ve been wrapping so many presents that I can’t be bothered with anything.
  8. This year was the worse, when I actually bought and wrapped my OWN present!!
  9. It doesn’t feel as special
  10. And another year older….

10 reasons I love my Birthday

  1. It usually snows. That is the universe’s present to me
  2. The City is always decorated and so pretty
  3. We usually put up the Christmas tree on my birthday
  4. The feeling of celebration is in the air
  5. Because everyone knows how sucky it is to have  birthday so close to Christmas, all my friends and family make an effort to call and make it special (I know, I have manipulated the situation)
  6. O gave a birthday kiss, and not just the cheek for me to kiss, but she kissed me. Yes, it was sloberry and wet, but cute
  7. Getting Happy Birthday phone calls
  8. Feeling loved and all warm and fuzzy
  9. I am forgiven most indiscretions.
  10. AND THE BEST REASON… MIMOSAS for breakfast in the office… IT WAS A GREAT DAY!!!!
About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Mommy Dearest and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

