Traveling and Such

O and I are planning a whole very extensive trip to Europe…in JULY!  I know, it’s a bit early to start panicking about it.  But after the last few outings with O where they turning slightly traumatic, I am getting a bit nervous.  Just all the logistics of it.  What do you bring?  Can you rent the stuff there?  And while we are there, we are traveling by car to a different location.  So it’s not just flying and staying in one place.

With all this in mind, I started doing some research online about it.  And this is why I LOVE, absolutely LOVE Babble.com.  I came across an article, which was amazing: 25 Family Travel Tips.  I found out that you can rent a bassinet from the airlines.   And it hooks right in front of the seat. It’s AMAZING.  What shocks me, how would I have known about this without stumbling upon this article? I get the Parenting magazine every month, and not once did they mention this.  I mean this could be the best thing since sliced bread, literallyhttps://ridgewoodmom.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post-new.php.

THEN… they suggest buying this pea pod.   Same thing. If I knew about this before O was born, I would have registered for this rather than the pack’n’play.  But not one of the “helpful” gift registry guides suggested this. If you get the bigger one, the kid can use till she’s 6 years old.  And the pack’n’play can go up to 25 lbs.  That’s almost 18 months.  What happens after that?  If you’ve never slept in the same bed as a baby, then you really don’t understand how much a baby moves and kicks.  Sleeping together… NOT AN OPTION!

Or maybe I should have read the Flying with Kids website I already added on the resources list to find out about the bassinet bit on the plane.

I could only wish I was this brave or have the opportunity to travel like this for work.  All Around the World.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Traveling and Such

  1. lovebug35 says:

    you guys are soo lucky..

Leave a Reply

