Bain of My Existence

There are several things during this first year of O’s life that have been a misery to me, but a necessary misery.

1. Baby Monitors.  For obvious reasons these are a necessary evil.  The reason I call them evil is because the batteries are AWFUL!! I mean, when they designed these, did they not consider that the battery life should be at least 12 hours with constant noise?  When O was little and I would put the monitor on, baby would continue to sleep, but the battery would run out of the monitor inevitably at like 4 am.  Until my Sweety Husband mentioned, “Why don’t you just keep it plugged in?”  GENIUS!!  Except now, the battery on both monitors run out in like 4 hours.  For our small house, that is not a problem.  But going to visit grandparents, it becomes a bit problematic.  And I thought I was the only one who had this problem.  Until I went to visit my friend (who has twins), and I noticed she too keeps her monitors plugged in. I guess she too found out how evil these are.

2. Nail Clippers.  My God… If there is a way for nails not to grow as quickly, I would love it.  As she gets stronger and stronger, it’s becoming tougher and tougher to hold her still to cut her nails. I don’t even use clippers, but these really delicate nail scissors.  But now when I cut her nails, I try not to take an eye out and DH holds her down.  And she’s screaming and crying, because obviously this is the worst thing that has happened to her (until you see the next point), and she would be much happier to scratch her face up like Edward Scissorhands then hold still for 5 minutes to get her nails cut.  I will not mention cutting the toenails, as that is bordering on traumatic experience.

3. Rubber Nasal Aspirator.  You pretty much use the saline drops to try to break through the crusty build up around her nose.  Then DH holds her down, while I try to suck out the nasties.  Or you hope she sneezes the snotties out. Hmmmm… All good in theory except for the piercing screams.  If I were her, I would consider cutting nails a BREEZE!!

4. Musical Ladybug.  This thing is a pink ladybug, that lights up and sings songs as you press a button. She loves this sucker.  And LOVES pushing the button.  It’s great, but that thing is super loud and I still haven’t figured out how to turn that thing off, or miraculously “flies away” without too many tears.

Addendum

5. How could I forget?  The ear thermometer.  I am not sure how you can stick the thermometer in a squirmy baby’s ear AND place it in the correct location to get an accurate reading.  I’ve had anything from 95.5 to 102.5.  I think we are going to switch a rectal thermometer.  Much more accurate.  And FYI, you need to 0.5 degrees when taking temperature by the ear.  Rectal  is the most accurate.  We just need to make sure NOT to confuse our thermometer with her thermometer.  YUCK!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

