Blood Tests

The other day, O had blood tests done.  She crying as squirming at the doctor, it was so sad to watch her! I don’t think it was the needle that scared her, but the fact that everyone was holding her arm down.  She hates to be constrained in any fashion.

A few days later I get a call that O’s lead levels are higher than normal.  Slight freak out, but I contain it until I get home.  When I pick her up at day care, I ask V if her daughter had this.  And she said yes.  And suggested that I feed her foods that help lower the lead levels.

I get home and do a whole bunch of research, and found a few helpful websites: Mamapedia where I found answers from parents, and it basically said that some kids do have a little elevated levels, and as long as it doesn’t go any higher, it should be fine.  So basically I now need to feed her foods high in Iron, and here is a list Foods High In Iron.

In a month we go back for another test but in the mean time, she’ll be eating lots of broccoli and spinach.  Yummy!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

