Tv and movies

The way I interpret movies and tv shows has changed since O has been born. This is a hard concept to understand. For example: a few nights ago I watched Monsters Ball. I watched the movie when it first came out and I found it really depressing with the womans position in the world and racism. But this time a new layer, a more powerful layer emerged: the parents relantionship with their child. The father saying “I never loved you” or the mother beating her Child for being too fat. And the clincher: both children dying. Completely heart wrenching.

Grey’s Anatomy beside of wasting my time this season and not enough plot lines for McSteamy, I almost had to stop watching if they continued with the sick kids every episode. As for Law & Order SVU, forget it. Can’t watch most episodes.

After talking to a few other parents, this phenomena is definetely pronounced with parents. And is part and parcel with new responsibility and trying to protect your child from harm.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Mommy Dearest. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

