Two White Knobs

Growing up in a communist country, where any little cavity required complete drilling of the tooth and filling it with awful silver filling, I am now obsessed with O’s two teeth.  I must at all costs instill in her a concern for the health of her teeth (I mean isn’t that why I had a child? To pass to her my anxieties?) I needed to start early with the brushing of the teeth.  Not to mention that every book I read scared the bejesus out of me that if I don’t start brushing her teeth she will never get in the habit of brushing her teeth.    After the fiasco I encounter every time I try to cut her nails, I thought, I would never be able to stick anything in her mouth and giggle it around and rub her gums.  But ye have little faith!!

I broke down the process in manageable goals: 1st to put something in her mouth. 2nd to move it around. 3rd to actually brush her two teeth, gums, and tongue.

I started out with Spiffies Toothwipes Apple Flavor. Now don’t be alarmed by the creepy looking child on the box.  If you can get passed that these things are GOLD!!  Of course the first time, O had to fight it, but once she tasted the yummy apple flavor, she couldn’t get enough. She would even start screaming and flailing her arms if I wasn’t quick enough opening the individual packets quickly enough.  I would move the towelette around her mouth, so she got used to the motion.  Goal 1 and 2: COMPLETE

Then, we had to upgrade to the Baby Orajel Tooth and Gum Cleaner.  You get this little rubber brush that you put on your finger. (Sidebar.  I had a similar thing to clean the dog’s teeth.)   At first, I couldn’t get the toothbrushy thing near her.  But then I put a bit of the gel on my finger, and all of a sudden, she can’t go to sleep without getting the two teeth brushed. Goal 3: COMPLETE

Next, holding and brushing her own teeth.  But I hope at that point she will have more than the two…..

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two White Knobs

  1. tartetitou says:

    Wow, Congrats! I like that you broke down the process into manageable “bites.” (bad pun–sorry!)

Leave a Reply

