Cracky

The cat situation in the neighborhood has deteriorated even further.  First off, this past weekend we added some flowers to front yard, spruced it up, cut the branches off the bush, add mulch, and power washed the front concrete.  It’s looking good.  Now the cats (we previously thought it was dogs) are using the mulch as their kitty litter.  They are digging holes, scattering the mulch about, and leaving shitty presents for us.  I have never been particularly fond of cats, but now, I really hate cats.

Then there is this one cat (which we’ve lovingly named Cracky for reasons that will become perfectly clear shortly), which hangs out in the front. It’s orange and mangy (I might have mentioned him before).  Whereas most stray cats try to pull the cute thing meowing innocently, looking all sad and alone, Cracky does the aggressive thing.  On several occasions he has accosted both myself and DH.  A few weeks ago, DH was coming home, and Cracky pretty much made him run from the car to the front door.  Meow, Meow, Meow… DH had to push him away as he was trying to make his way into our house.

Then last night, I went out with my watering can to water our brand new flowers in the front.  And as soon as I opened the door, I heard him.  Meow, Meow… It was like a horror movie.  I look around nervously, wondering where he would be coming from.   I see nothing… a tumbleweed blows by just as a gust of wind picks up.  In the distance, a metal trash can crashed with a great bang…. Cracky’s cries sound closer and closer. Meow, Meow.  I finish as fast as I can, but as in any horror movie, I have to go back again. Not all the flowers got watered.   I bring out the full watering can. but this time I close the door behind me becuase I don’t want him to come in the house.  Meow, Meow!  I look down both sides of the sidewalk, and I don’t see anything. Then out of the corner of my eye, I see a flash of orange.  Oh no… HE’S HERE!!  I can’t make myself move fast enough!  It’s like all of a sudden my brain forgot how to tilt the water can to make the water come out.  Then I see him!  He’s on the sidewalk, right in front of the front garden.  MEOW, MEOW!  I almost trip down the stairs, and I head forfront door, but we cross paths inadvertently.  I jump!  MEOW!!  I run quickly in the house, and slam the door.

FREAKING CAT!!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Hood, Queens and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cracky

  1. Pingback: Freaking Cats « RigdewoodMom's Blog

  2. Pingback: Veggies in the Garden | RigdewoodMom's Blog

Leave a Reply

