Very Close to FH Status

A few days ago, DH got home pretty late after working physically all day.  He worked hard.  I too had a tough day (the night before I hardly slept. ) And it was a busy day at work.

We get home after picking up O.  And we get to our usual routine. I entertain her.  Usually DH starts perparing dinner.  But not that night.  Too tired.

At 6:15ish I say to him, “Can you watch her?  I need to get her dehumidifier ready.”  I leave O in her room with DH. I come in with a water jug to fill the dehumidifier, and O has her little fingers in the mentholated oil that goes on top of the dehumidifier.  I say, What the hell?  He says, I thought it was OK. I’m thinking, wouldn’t you be curious to know what she is sticking her fingers in?  By now, the oil stuff is all over her hands, over the floor, and it’s starting to get tracked through the house.  I say, you have to wash her hands.  He brings over a wet paper towel.  You can’t wipe off oil with wet paper towel.  So I take O to the bathroom to wash her hands with water and soap.  After which I hand her over, so I can start the bath. I indicate this by starting to run the water in the bathtub.  All three of us are in the bathroom, and all of a sudden DH starts shaving.  I mean, WHY?  Why now?  Why not wait 20 minutes until after her bath?

So then I drag the baby with me, as I gather her towel, her diaper, her lotions and potions, her pj, etc.  But DH/ FH was just shaving and cooing at her.  How about holding her??

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

