The Draft

No, not the army draft.  But the draft from a window.

Today I had the following conversation with my mom.

Me: So O has an ear infection.

Mom: Because she doesn’t wear hats.

Me: No.  It’s because of her nose congestion.  It dripped in her ear when she was sleeping, so it got infected.

Mom: Ah. Is that what they tell you now?

Me:  Yes, that is what “they” (aka Pediatrician) tell me now.  Plus in one year this is her first ear infection.  I hear that’s pretty good.

This leads me to the Eastern Euro belief that all bad things happen becuase of drafts.  100 degrees out, “don’t open the window, the baby will catch a cold with the draft”.  The said “draft” is 95 degrees.  I’ve heard from my grandmother to not let the baby sit on the grass becuase she will catch a cold. You can catch a urinary tract infection from walking around with no shoes or socks.  You must wrap the baby up because she will catch a cold.  I had to put a stop to this after the baby was physically uncomfortable becuase of the amount of clothes and blankets she had wrapped around her (O was 2 months then).  I also had to explain about the fear of SIDS and how that is believed to be caused by overheated babies.

I guess you can take the Mom out of Eastern Europe, but you can’t take the Eastern Europe out of the Mom.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Mommy Dearest and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Draft

  1. tartetitou says:

    That’s hilarious–I guess Eastern European lores travel well into the far East! My mom’s thing was don’t go out of the house with wet hair, you’ll catch literally, “the winds.” I love the one about getting UT from being barefoot–that one’s new to me!

    • frankiesmom12 says:

      I too have heard that. DH said that on NPR they actually talked about the old wives’ tales. I have to try to find the link and post it!

Leave a Reply

