Hello, Is Anyone Out There?

My friend bought O the classic toy, Chatter Telephone by Fisher Price.

You know the one.  If you grew up here, you probably had one yourself.  Many friends who see it are very nostalgic about it.  Anyway, you would think that in times of iPhones, Blackberries, Cell Phones (I know, her daddy has a regular cell phone) and cordless phones, a rotary phone with phone cord would be completely foreign to her.  But phones, I guess no matter what shape or type they take, are inherent part of childhood.  After pretending to talk on the phone, she now takes the receiver, puts it to her ear, and says hello (or at least her version of Hello).  And she didn’t just do that two seconds after I showed her how to do it, but she went to the toy independently and pretended to talk on the phone.  And she has also put the receiver to my ear as well. Super cute, and I might say, SUPER SMART!!!

Along the same lines, I wear glasses.  Her grandmother had her glassed dangling from a chain around her neck.  O took the glasses, and put them up to her eyes, because obviously that is where glasses go!  Again, SMARTEST BABY EVER!!

This weekend, I also bought her a toy that is for 2 year + (I know… I am putting a lot of pressure on her already).  It’s one of those with mallet, and you have to hit the ball to come down the maze.  She gets where the balls go, hitting the balls with the mallet, that’s taking a bit more time. But she did do it once after I showed her.  Right now her favorite is to bang the balls together.  I give her 5 more days before she gets the mallet and hitting the ball bit.  ALMOST THE SMARTEST BABY EVER!!!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

