Who is this baby???

Where to begin???  The weekend was quite eventful.  From super crankiness to loving huggy moments.  The best time with O is after she gets up, and you are holding her, and she’s hugging you, with her little head on my shoulder.  Pacifier in mouth, and little sighs escape her like this is the hardest day of her life.

I find it amazing how much she is absorbing, and all the new things she is learning.  I am not sure how long she has been able to do these things, but this weekend I observed the cutest things from her.

  1. I started reviewing What to Expect the First Year, and I realized that  I need to get on her to achieve her next batch of must dos.  Ok, so I always look at the list of things that they categorize as “Baby Might Be Also doing…” becuase this only means she is smarter than the average baby.  One of the things was to put things in a bucket or cup.  So I gathered all her finger puppets and started putting them in this big round box.  She would take them out, I would put them in.  She started putting them in the box too.  Check mark on the line.  But then she did the most remarkable thing.  I asked her to hand me the star, and SHE DID!!  Then in a moment of weakness I asked her for the spoon.  She started handing it me, but she only touched the spoon in my palm, but did not actually give it to me.  But as DH pointed out, how could I be so selfish to ask her to give me the Spoon??  The Spoon is the most important thing ever!!! (I reference previous post).
  2. In addition to waving, now she claps.  And gets super excited about clapping.  When she does something she is really proud of, she starts clapping.  I also noticed that if we start laughing hysterically, at nothing really, she starts laughing as well.  Super cute, and maybe super mean.
  3. Her obsession with the Spoon has only increased.  She constantly wants to hold it.  Sometimes when she is super cranky, the only way she lets me feed her is if I give her to hold her own spoon.  Yesterday, I ended up putting some of her oatmeal on her spoon, and she brought it to her mouth herself.  She loved it. Until I gave her one spoonful, and she flung her hand, and almost hit the painting on the wall.  Note to self:  Move the high chair away from family heirlooms.
  4. She took her first 5 steps by herself.  She was so excited, she clapped (of course).  Then as I tried to get her to do it again, she would look at me all excited, but after 30 seconds of thinking, Should I walk over there? She would drop on her diaper clad bum, and crawl over to me.  But at least she took those 5 steps.
  5. This morning when I dropped her off at daycare, I went to kiss her on the cheek, and she lead over herself to give me her cheek to kiss. What a cutie!!

Soon she will be in college.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

