Was Babble Speaking to Me Today?

On Babble.com today was a posting from All Play and No Work Makes Mom a Little Crazy asking for advise on becoming a stay at home mom.  Was she speaking to me directly?  After reading her question, I was thinking, My god!  That’s me!  http://babble.com/house-trap-toddler-bored-anxious/ Labor Day weekend was crazy.  O was super cranky, and I had no idea what to do to entertain her.  In the response, they recommend doing something together.  But what do you do when you just want 1 hour or 2 to relax??  Just sit and vege in front of the TV (a favorite pass time before O came along).  When she naps (her 30 minute cat naps), I run around cleaning, tiding up, starting the 5th load of laundry, and no down time for me.

And her latest thing, which is a bit of knife in the heart of any mother, she is super excited to see me when I pick her up at daycare.  I hold her for a bit, but then, she reaches for V (the woman who runs the daycare).  At first I was super offended. I am her mother.  And yesterday, she even cried when I tried to put her in the stroller.  I still get offended by this, but I realize that V is there all the time, and she is already a really good mother (she has a really well behaved daughter).  And obviously V is giving O the best of attention.  Because, let’s be honest, if O would cry every time I dropped her off, or pretty much jumped in my arms when she would see me, I would start questioning the quality of the care she is getting.

So it’s a catch 22.  O loves me, I love her, and want to make sure she is taken care of.  But I don’t want her to think that she is not my fatty baby, even though she technically spends more time with V than with me.  I should be happy, and once I get over my bruised ego, I am happy and totally grateful to have someone who really cares about O take care of her daily needs.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

