Do you know Cinderella’s name?

Most of the baby websites and books say to read the same story before going to bed, but I find that boring.  I would also like to think that O likes a bit of variety.

After reading Alice in Wonderland, four nights ago we started Cinderella.  It’s slow going.  Maybe one or two pages a night because O gets distracted by the ribbon marker and the nice cloth on the book.  And maybe wanting to rip the pages out of the book as well.

But did you know that Cinderella had an actual name, not just Cinderella?   I didn’t.  It’s sad, but I honestly do not remember anyone ever reading the actual story of Cinderella.  Her name is Ella.  Which makes prefect sense with the movie, Ella, Enchanted.  But I guess I too have been brain washed by the Disney animated version of the book.  I wonder if there are any talking mice in the book.  Hmmm… Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE the movie!!  Then I started thinking about all the different movie version of Cinderella:  Disney’s Original Cinderella, then the 15 other spin off animated ones, Ella Enchanted (love it… granted it’s been on TV like every night for the past month), Ever After (Drew Barrymore, love her), A Cinderella Story (not really), Confessions of an Ugly Step Sister, can’t think of anymore.

Now I am super excited to read other stories with her that honestly deserve more than the 2 hours in the movie theater.  I just wish she would have a longer attention span than a mouse, so we can get down to some serious reading.

And to make her mama proud, out of the toy box, she always pulls out a board book to flip through it… She will LOVE reading!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Mommy Dearest and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

