Baby Smarter than Mama?

Yes, it’s true. O is showing signs of being much smarter than her mother.  She has these Boon bath toys made of foam.  She uses them to gnaw on them while I dry her, but overall she has shown more interest in the squirt toys. Or the rubber ducky.  The Boon toys are very colorful and very bright.  But the shapes were random.  There aren’t any shapes that are identifiable like circle or square.  Rather, it looks like some abstract art decoupage pieces ready for assembly on some canvass.  I would pick one shape up, and say the color (Magenta, Cyan, Yellow, Light Pink, etc.) but I didn’t see the rest of their usefulness.  But every bath time I should shove them in the water, and she would float them around.  Then the other day, the light bulb in my daughter’s head went on. The light bulb in her mother’s head, on the other hand, was embarrassingly still dim (it probably burnt out…note to self, must change internal light bulb).  She placed them on the side of the tub… AND THEY STICK.  You can put the pieces together in some way to create a larger shape.  So would take the shape out of the water, place it on the tub, take another one, place it on the tub… then remove all of them from the tub, and place them again.  And then my light bulb went on.  So that’s what they are for.

Next week I expect her to solve calculus problems.  (But I need to make sure I have the answers.)

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

